Exercise in Spring

With winter’s chill and blustery skies
My e-bike’s fine for exercise.
But when spring comes and weather’s fair,
I ride outside in sunny air.

Yet all too often chores demand
The cycling time that I had planned.
Appointments, deadlines, supersede
My heart’s joy, and my body’s need.

And does it not seem hard to you,
When all the sky is clear and blue
And I should like so much to ride,
To have to exercise inside?

With profound respect for Robert Louis Stevenson, whose sentimental yet droll A Child’s Garden of Verses is still one of the best children’s books ever.

©Arnold J. Bradford, 2010.

Leave a Reply

