Random Temptations

All things can tempt me from this craft of verse:
One time it was a woman’s face, or worse–
W. B. Yeats

Temptations not to ride/write much or well are legion.  Even with bloggers, much less the world’s greatest poet of the 20th century.  I’ve had a great vacation followed by a great week with good classes and an inspiring meeting, followed by a descent of family for a celebration of my wife’s 60th birthday.  Too much good food and wine.  Many friends and casual pleasures.  Not enough time to exercise properly, and less to ride outdoors in this uncoöperatively windy and chilly weather.  Now we’re looking at two more days of rain. . . . Cooking quite a bit over the last few days, I reconnected with the joys of doing so.  Simple stuff, such as angel food cake not from scratch but from Duncan Hines.  Still, my forte never was pastries.  I am refocusing on innovative tastes, but simple preparations with in-season local ingredients.  Another criterion is healthy, low-fat foods.  I am not a vegetarian, but I want to avoid large portions of meats (and everything else). . . . I also want to make sure that every time I ride, I am in a strong nutritional situation.  No starvation, but intelligent diet, in advance of a ride.  Proper hydration with less alcohol intake. . . . This season has been one of fits and starts so far.  There have been constant breaks in the routine, caused by travel, social obligations, and weather.  I need to narrow and refine my diet focus to make the most of the next few weeks. . . . And I have reading to do.  Ever hear of David Foster Wallace?  A new discovery for me, though I find I have read a piece by him on Maine lobsters.  Focus, refine!

©Arnold J. Bradford, 2010.

One thought on “Random Temptations

Leave a Reply

